News Examiner: Lyon’s late sprint puts Devils in 4-A quarters

By Chris Brooks for The News Examiner

WHITE HOUSE — Alex Lyon keeps making big plays in his first year in a White House football uniform.

The Blue Devil senior made perhaps his biggest play yet when his 30-yard touchdown run with 37.5 seconds remaining boosted White House to a 21-14 victory over visiting Lexington in Friday’s Class 4A second-round game at Dewey H. Whitson Stadium.

Lyon took a shotgun snap and ran right, cutting upfield and dodging a Lexington tackler on his sprint to the end zone.

“It started with our line,” Lyon said of his game-winning run. “I think they actually went the wrong way, but my fullback Woody (senior Taylor Wood) had a great block and I cut it back inside. I saw the free safety coming and just cut inside of him. As soon as I passed him, I knew I was in the end zone.”…READ MORE

Leave a Reply

